Rating: 9,3/10 (1630 votes)
Old Town Hall – the town hall, built at the end of the 14th century, overlooking the east side of the Marienplatz.
The first mention of the town hall dates back to the beginning of the 14th century, but the large hall of the building and the main works were completed by 1394. In 1460, the town hall was struck by lightning, only a decade later the town hall was restored in the late Gothic style. Jorg von Halsbach supervised the restoration. Over time, elements of different styles, for example, the Renaissance, were added to the design of the facade. And in 1861-1864. during the next reconstruction, the building acquired neo-Gothic features.
The City Council, which met in the Old Town Hall, in 1874 moved to the New Town Hall building, built not far, on the north side of Marienplatz Square.
Among other things, the Old Town Hall is notable for the fact that Joseph Goebbels gave his speech from here on the eve of the Jewish pogroms of 1938.
The Town Hall was badly damaged during the Second World War, only by the beginning of the 70s. the building was restored, a new spire was installed.
Of particular interest is the main hall of the town hall (Ballroom). It is decorated with a wooden ceiling with a carved frieze. The frieze depicts 87 coats of arms, made at the end of the 15th century.
Today, the Toy Museum occupies four floors of the Old Town Hall. Here is a large collection of dolls, carousels, plush toys and toy railways.
We also recommend reading Niederalteich in Germany, Bavaria resort
Topic: Old Town Hall in Germany, Munich resort.