Niederalteich in Germany, Bavaria resort (Topic)

Traval Articles » Travel » Niederalteich in Germany, Bavaria resort

Niederalteich in Germany, Bavaria resort

Rating: 8,3/10 (684 votes)
Niederalteich – Abbey of the Benedictine Order in Lower Bavaria. It is located in the village of the same name on the left bank of the Danube and is part of the Diocese of Passau.

The abbey was founded in 730-740. Duke of Bavaria Odilon. During secularization it was closed in 1803. The abbey was revived only in 1918.

In the middle of the 20th century, ecumenical activity unfolded in Bavaria, and Niederalteich became its center.

Monastery, built in 730-740, was dedicated to Saint Mauritius. Eberswind, the first abbot of the monastery, was the compiler of the Bavarian truth. During this period, the monastery acquired vast land plots. In 848, the abbey had the right to choose the abbot independently, and by the end of the 9th century more than fifty immigrants from Niederalteich had become bishops or abbots of other monasteries.

In the 10th century, the monastery suffered greatly from the raids of the Hungarians. Gotthard of Hildesheim, later canonized, became abbot of the monastery in 996. Under him, the abbey was restored and flourished.

Under Abbot Gmeiner, in the 16th century, Niederalteich became a stronghold of the Counter-Reformation. The monastery fell into disrepair during the Thirty Years War, but with the conclusion of the Westphalian Armistice it was reopened. In the 17th century, during the reign of Abbot Bacheneder, the monastery again approached its heyday. A school and a Baroque monastery church were built in the 18th century by Abbot Hamberger. In 1803, like many other monasteries, Niederalteich was liquidated.

In 1813 there was a fire that began the process of destruction of buildings of churches and monasteries. All buildings of the monastery complex were sold to private individuals, and the adjacent buildings, chapels and cloisters were destroyed.

A century later, the monastery was revived with the help of Franz Knabenbauer, professor of theology. The monks of Metten Abbey settled here.

The Pope granted the monastery church the title of `` minor basilica '' in 1932. In 1949 the monastery gained independence. In 1973, a new building of the monastery grammar school was rebuilt, called the Gymnasium of St. Gotthard.

We also recommend reading Weltenburg monastery in Germany, Bavaria resort

Topic: Niederalteich in Germany, Bavaria resort.Niederalteich in Germany, Bavaria resort

Author: Kelly Costine