Rating: 7,9/10 (2049 votes)This castle is located near the Teale River, in the village of the same name in northern Northumberland. From the dilapidated fortress today, only sections of the outer wall, a donjon with a height of 4 floors and a fortress gate remain. The castle guard donjon was rectangular, its walls were two meters thick. The first floor of the tower was used as a warehouse, the second and third were given over for living quarters, and on the fourth, the guards lived, since it was possible to get to the roof from it. On both sides of the gate, two towers were installed, and the entrance was closed with a lattice. Archaeologists suggest that there used to be a moat in front of the gate. Initially, the outer castle wall was wooden, but under King Edward III it was replaced by a stone one. Within this outer wall were various auxiliary buildings, of which only the foundations remained. You can visit it in spring, summer and autumn. Ital was originally a three-story residential tower owned by Robert Manners. The castle was located right on the border with Scotland, so in 1314, Robert was given a Royal License to strengthen his estate. The fortification took 15 years, but now the tower has become a real castle. The Manners were seriously at odds with the Chiron family - their close neighbors. This feud escalated so much that in 1428 William Hirok laid siege to Ital, but he was defeated. In 1495, George Manners was given the title of Baron of Roos, so he and his family moved to another place, and the castle was leased to the Colinwood family. When the Scottish King James IV invaded England in 1513, he briefly captured the castle of Ital, but after the defeat he quickly gave it back to the British. After that, the castle was empty, but in 1547 Thomas Mannerson handed it over to the English Crown. For a long time, an army was located in the castle, but they were in no hurry to restore it. Over the next few centuries, the castle changed owners many times, but by the 18th century it became completely uninhabitable. In 1908, the castle was bought by James Joike, whose family still owns it. However, the castle is ruled by English Heritage and is free to visit in spring, summer and fall.
We also recommend reading Warkworth Castle in the UK
Topic: Ital Castle in Great Britain.