Rating: 7,6/10 (3044 votes)
The Aqua Paola Fountain, also known as the Gianicolo Fountain, was built in 1605-1921 on the order of Pope Paul the Fifth Bergese. At that time, the outskirts of Rome, including the Vatican, suffered from a lack of drinking water.
In 1612, a more modern one was built on the site of an ancient aqueduct. Initially, the aqueduct was called Aqua Bracciano, but later it was renamed in honor of Pope Paul the Fifth as Aqua Paola aqueduct.
The authors of the fountain were Flaminio Ponzio and Giovanni Fontana. A huge marble bowl, located at the foot of the fountain, was created in 1690 by Carlo Fontana.
The basis of the composition is three wide niches, which are framed on the sides by two small niches, from where water flows into a marble semicircular pool. Water is delivered to the fountain from Lake Bracchiano.
According to a Latin inscription, water was supplied to the fountain from the Alsietina canal. However, the fact remains that the water was originally supplied from Lake Bracciano, located 40 kilometers from the city, through the Trajan aqueduct, built in 109 by Emperor Troyan.
We also recommend reading Bridge of the Holy Angel in Italy, Rome resort
Topic: Fountain Aqua Paola in Italy, Rome resort.