Rating: 8,2/10 (1039 votes)
The Big Onofrio Fountain is located in the Old Town Square, next to the Pile Gate, and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The fountain was built in 1438 to 1444, by the famous architect Onofrio de la Cava. Initially, it had two floors, but in 1667, after an earthquake, the upper floor was destroyed and never rebuilt.
Onofrio's large fountain is a stone multifaceted container with a spherical"cap". The 16 sides of the fountain are decorated with carved medallions, in the middle of each side there is a tap for water supply. Many of these cranes are in need of restoration. Then the water filled the pool surrounding the structure.
The water to the fountain fell through a specially built aqueduct, which led to a mountain spring 12 kilometers from Dubrovnik.
At night, the fountain is beautifully illuminated from below, while the surrounding medieval buildings remain dark. During the day near the fountain, you can calmly rest after the tour, and the locals make appointments here.
We also recommend reading Temple of Minerva in Italy, Rome resort
Topic: Big Onofrio's fountain in Croatia, Dubrovnik resort.