Rating: 7,9/10 (359 votes)
This monastery is owned by the Order of St. Clair, which was founded in 1326. Opposite this monastery is the Royal Garden, in which shrubs and cypresses grow.
The part of the monastery that is open to the public is a museum. The expositions in it correspond to the living conditions of monks. In addition to interior items, the museum exhibits works of art that span almost 6 centuries. Some of them are the property of the monastery, and some are – these are gifts from individuals. Particular attention should be paid to the old kitchen, pharmacy and hospital.
The monastery has a covered arcade with a height of three floors. It is decorated with a Renaissance fountain. This arcade is only partially open to visitors. In its main room there is a Flemish altar. Next to the arcade is the Chapel of St. Michel. It contains Gothic frescoes created in 1346 by Ferrer Bassa.
From the Royal Garden you can get into a single-nave Gothic church. Its interior is divided into two parts by a wall and an iron grating. Only one part is open to guests, only the inhabitants of the monastery are allowed into the second. In the church, pay attention to the tomb of Jaume II's wife, Queen Elisenda, who died in 1346, as well as the stained glass windows of the 15th century.
We also recommend reading Gran Teatre del Liceu in Spain, Barcelona resort
Topic: Monastery of Pedralbes (Monestir de Pedralbes) in Spain, Barcelona resort.