Hunting lodge description and photos - Belarus: Gomel. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The hunting lodge is the summer residence of Count Nikolai Petrovich Rumyantsev. The house was built in 1820 by the architect Ivan Petrovich Dyachkov. It is interesting that Rumyantsev himself was never interested in hunting and it is not known why the house was given such a name.
In Gomel, this house was given a different name "House of Empire". The name is wrong. The house was built in the classicism style. The main facade is Doric with a six-column portico and an outdoor terrace. The building is rectangular in plan, one-story, with a hipped roof. A bronze bust of Alexander Sergeevich Pushkin is installed in the courtyard of the hunting lodge.
After the death of Rumyantsev, the house was inherited by the Krushevsky family of nobles. This happened in the second half of the 19th century. The Krushevskys lived in the Hunting Lodge until 1917. After the revolution, the Extraordinary Commission met here and the first radio station in the city worked.
In 1997, a thorough restoration of the Hunting Lodge was carried out. It has opened an exposition of ancient and rare items from the times of the first owner, Count Rumyantsev. The hunting lodge is a part of the Gomel palace and park ensemble.
Since 2009, the building houses a museum of the history of Gomel. In total, the museum now has seven exhibition halls. Among them are: cabinet; canteen; collection of paintings. Ninety percent of the museum's exhibits were donated by residents of Gomel. Among them are antique furniture and paintings, a collection of antique clocks, dishes, antique toys, porcelain trinkets, and other interior items.
We also recommend reading Hochfeiler mountain description and photos - Austria: Zillertal
Topic: Hunting lodge description and photos - Belarus: Gomel.