UsefulTravelArticles.com

Porta Nigra description and photos - Germany: Trier (Topic)

Traval Articles » Travel » Porta Nigra description and photos - Germany: Trier

Porta Nigra description and photos - Germany: Trier

Porta Nigra description and photos - Germany: Trier

Porta Nigra description and photos - Germany: Trier. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The title in English is Porta Nigra.

Photo and description

The Porta Nigra gate, which means "Black Gate", is rightfully considered the hallmark of Trier and is on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Built in 180 during the heyday of the Roman Empire, they are the oldest surviving defensive structure in Germany. Trier of that time, also called "Northern Rome", was surrounded by a high fortress wall with four entrance gates. The only ones that have survived to this day are striking in their power and grandeur. They are 36 meters wide, 30 meters high and 21.5 meters deep.

Contrary to its name, Porta Nigra is built of white stone that has darkened with time. 7200 boulders of a unique structure, each weighing up to 6 tons, are connected without cement: carefully fitted, they were connected with iron brackets and secured with liquid tin. During the Middle Ages, for the sake of valuable metal, these staples were partially taken out through special holes. But, despite numerous wars and robberies, the building has completely survived.

The legend connects such a preservation of the Black Gate with the hermit monk Simeon, who lived there from 1028 to 1035 and was buried, according to his will, under the gate. After his death, a church was added to Porta Nigra, called the Church of St. Simeon. By order of Napoleon in 1803, the church was almost completely destroyed, and the gate acquired its original appearance. Today Porta Nigra houses a museum.

despite numerous wars and robberies, the building has completely survived.

The legend connects such a preservation of the Black Gate with the hermit monk Simeon, who lived there from 1028 to 1035 and was buried, according to his will, under the gate. After his death, a church was added to Porta Nigra, called the Church of St. Simeon. By order of Napoleon in 1803, the church was almost completely destroyed, and the gate acquired its original appearance. Today Porta Nigra houses a museum.

despite numerous wars and robberies, the building has completely survived.

The legend connects such a preservation of the Black Gate with the hermit monk Simeon, who lived there from 1028 to 1035 and was buried, according to his will, under the gate. After his death, a church was added to Porta Nigra, called the Church of St. Simeon. By order of Napoleon in 1803, the church was almost completely destroyed, and the gate acquired its original appearance. Today Porta Nigra houses a museum.

By order of Napoleon in 1803, the church was almost completely destroyed, and the gate acquired its original appearance. Today Porta Nigra houses a museum.

By order of Napoleon in 1803, the church was almost completely destroyed, and the gate acquired its original appearance. Today Porta Nigra houses a museum.

Image Image Image Image Image Image

We also recommend reading Klaipeda lighthouse (Klaipedos svyturys) description and photos - Lithuania: Klaipeda

Topic: Porta Nigra description and photos - Germany: Trier.Porta Nigra description and photos - Germany: Trier

Author: Kelly Costine

LiveInternet