Rating: 7,8/10 (222 votes)The history of Arundel Castle, known for its luxury, began with a wooden fortress, which was built by the Earl of Arundel, Roger de Montgomery in 1068. A stone tower surrounded by a wall was built here in 1140. And the church and the garden (by the way, most likely the first royal garden in England) appeared here with the light hand of King Henry II. Until the 13th century, the castle was owned by the Earls of Arundel and the Dukes of Norflock, then the Fitzalan family owned it, and in the 16th century - by the Howard family. Throughout its existence, it has been home to a large number of historical figures known both in England and throughout the world. The castle was badly damaged during the siege during the civil war, and both the Royalist troops and the troops of Parliament took part in its destruction. The restoration of the castle began only in the 18th century, restoring many of the original Norman features of the castle. However, the most intensive restoration was carried out in the 19th century, when the castle was given a grandiose Gothic look. In 1864, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, her husband, visited the castle. For their arrival, the castle was specially reconstructed: the furniture in the library and the bedroom was completely replaced, and a portrait of Queen Victoria ordered from William Fowler was hung on the wall. The Queen was very pleased and spoke warmly of the time spent in Arundel. Now, in memory of the Queen's visit, there are rooms in the castle where she stayed. These rooms have remained largely unchanged since the royal visit so that people can learn more about Queen Victoria.
We also recommend reading Helmsley Castle in the UK
Topic: Arundel Castle in Great Britain.