Rating: 8,3/10 (2072 votes)
Hohenachau Castle – one of the largest castles in Bavaria, located on a hill in Aschau im Chiemgau.
The land around the castle belonged to the Archbishopric of Salzburg since 891. Since 1158, the land was transferred to the possession of the Counts of Falkenstein-Neuburg.
The castle was built by brothers Konrad and Arnold von Girnsberg in 1165. In the medieval Codex of Falkensteinensis, the castle of Aschau is mentioned around 1170.
The castle changed several owners during the 14th century: in 1327 it was owned by Aschau, who lost it due to financial difficulties. From 1328 to 1374 the castle was owned by Mountner von Burghausen. In 1374, the castle passed to Baron Konrad von Freiberg.
Under the Barons Freibergs, who owned the castle until 1606, Hohenachau Castle experienced its golden age. Pankratz von Freiberg expanded the property and rebuilt the castle in the Renaissance style in 1540. But he was imprisoned by the Bavarian Duke Albrecht V for adopting Protestantism. In 1608, the castle was acquired by Johann Christoph von Preissing, who married Benigno von Freiberg. A few decades later, under Count Max II von Preising, the castle was significantly rebuilt. From 1672 to 1686, the southern wing was decorated in the Baroque style, and a vaulted Baroque chapel was built. Most of the work was carried out by the artists Josef Eder and Jacob Karnutsch. By the end of the 18th century, the castle was abandoned and dilapidated.
In 1848, due to the abolition of aristocratic privileges in Bavaria, it lost its administrative significance. And after the death of the last member of the Preissing family in 1853, the owners of the castle changed even more often than before.
In 1875, the castle was bought by Theodor von Kramer-Klett, an industrialist. His son Theodore the Younger carried out extensive restoration and modernization of the castle in 1905-1908. during the Second World War, the castle was used as a hospital. By the beginning of World War II, Hohenaschau was sold to the German Reich, the castle was converted into a naval building. Only the chapel remained for the family.
From 1960 to the present day, the main part of the castle is rented and equipped as a recreation and leisure center. In 2006, a major restoration of the castle was carried out.
We also recommend reading Parsberg Castle in Germany, Bavaria resort
Topic: Hohenaschau Castle in Germany, Bavaria resort.