Rating: 9,4/10 (5068 votes)
The Roman house, located in the Ilmsky Park on a hillside, was built in 1791-1797. The author of the project was Johann August Ahrens. The building was built following the example of a villa located in the vicinity of Rome.
The facade of the building was made in the form of an Ionic portico of a Greek temple. The interior was designed by Christian Friedrich Schuricht. The walls and ceiling were painted by John Heinrich Mayer. On the western side of the building, on the inner field of the pediment, a relief was created in 1819, symbolizing the allegories of science, agriculture and art.
In 1999, restoration work was carried out in the building. Nowadays, the Blue Lounge, the Lobby Lounge and the Yellow Lounge are available to tourists.
We also recommend reading F. Nietzsche archive in Germany, Weimar health resort
Topic: Roman house in Germany, Weimar resort.