Rating: 8,1/10 (300 votes)
Ettersburg Castle Complex, located at the edge of the forest, on a hill, includes the old castle, which is adjacent to the new castle and church.
In the 17th century, the forest surrounding the castle was the hunting ground of the dukes. In the 18th century, by order of Duke Wilhelm Ernest, the construction of the castle began here, which was completed under his nephew Ernest Augustus.
In 1776-1780, the castle was used by Duchess Anna Amalia as a summer residence. During that period, meetings of musicians and writers were often held here. In 1842, Karl Alexander, the great-grandson of the Duchess, became the owner of the castle. Karl created a beautiful park around the castle.
In 1845, Prince Hermann von Puckler-Muskau expanded the castle alley through a glade. In honor of the prince, a large forest lawn was named, which, along with the park, forms a small masterpiece of landscape Thuringian art.
In the 20th century, Ettersburg castle complex often passed from hand to hand, while the owners of the castle carelessly belonged to the plantings and historical structures of the park.
In 1979, reconstruction work began on the complex, during which pedestrian paths reappeared in the park, care of flower beds and trees was resumed. Nowadays, conferences and seminars are held in the castle.
We also recommend reading Castle and Belvedere park in Germany, resort of Weimar
Topic: Ettersburg Castle and Park in Germany, Weimar Resort.