Rating: 7,5/10 (100 votes)
Palace Bridge is a bridge located in the center of Berlin, at the eastern end of Unter den Linden street. The architectural monument connects the historic districts of Berlin Friedrichswerder and Spreeinsel. In 1951-1991 the bridge bore the name of Marx and Engels.
Historical documents say that the bridge at this place existed in the 15th century. Building materials for the first Berlin City Palace were transported through it. The wooden bridge, nicknamed the Dog Bridge, survived until 1736, when the court carpenter Birig took over its reconstruction. The modern construction of the bridge was developed in 1738. In 1806, Napoleon entered Berlin across the Dog Bridge.
The new stone bridge was built in the period from 1821 to 1824 according to the project of Karl Friedrich Schinkel. The construction of the bridge has become one of the most important tasks in the framework of the design of the vast territory from the City Palace to the Opera Square. The stone vaulted bridge was made of sandstone and is able to pass water transport without lifting.
A tragic incident is connected with the construction of the bridge. The groundbreaking ceremony took place in May 1822, and in November 1823, the marriage was appointed for the Crown Prince of Prussia, Friedrich Wilhelm IV. The bridge had not been completed by that time, but the day before the wedding it was solemnly opened. A solemn torchlight procession was organized to the Lustgarten. A temporary wooden bridge was made on the unfinished part of the bridge, on which, as a result of the resulting crush, more than twenty people died. For reasons of censorship, no information about this incident was published in the press.
The bridge was completed and put into operation by 1824. According to Schinkel's project, the bridge was to be decorated with eight sculptures that speak of victories in the Wars of Independence. Due to the lack of funds, the sculptures were installed only in 1857.
In 1938 the bridge was reinforced with reinforced concrete structures. During the Second World War, it received minor damage (in 1945), in contrast to the neighboring bridges. The sculptures were removed and hidden in the western part of Berlin back in 1943.
After the war, the bridge ended up in the eastern part of the city. It was restored in 1950-1952 and given a different name:" Until 1989, work was carried out over the bridge: lanterns were installed, elements of decoration of the pedestals were updated, fences were added, and the bridge supports were repaired. In 1991, the bridge was returned to its historical name, and in 1995-1997 major renovations were carried out.
We also recommend reading St. Jadwiga Cathedral in Germany, Berlin resort
Topic: Palace Bridge in Germany, Berlin resort.