Rating: 8,4/10 (6135 votes)
There were many foreign missions in this quarter between 1861 and 1959. During the Yuan Dynasty, the street was called Dong Jiangmi Xiang. Customs offices were located here.
The area suffered quite a lot during the Cultural Revolution. Also, a lot of damage to the quarter was caused during the 1980 massive renovations in Beijing. Many buildings here were demolished to widen the road. Some have become offices of government agencies.
However, the area continues to attract tourists as it houses the largest collection of European-style buildings in Beijing.
We also recommend reading North Sea Park (Beihai) in China, Beijing resort
Topic: Embassy Quarter in China, Beijing Resort.