Rating: 8,9/10 (2042 votes)
The name of the mosque is associated with the name of the Turkish Caliph Omar, who arrived in Nicosia in the 7th century, during the Arab raid on Cyprus. Previously, this mosque was a church and was at the disposal of the monks of the Augustinian monastery.
During the artillery attacks In the Ottoman Empire, the church suffered greatly. In 1571, the Turks, taking as a basis the surviving part of the Augustinian monastery, rebuilt it into the Omeriye mosque. The mosque acquired this name due to the assumption that it was at this place that Caliph Omar was buried.
The first floor of the mosque is lined with gravestones dating back to the Lucinian era. In the chapel, built in the 14th century, fragments of the original vaults have been preserved. The minaret of the mosque is very high.
The mosque is still functioning. And from the balconies of the mosque you can see the whole city.
We also recommend reading Abu Gosh village in Israel
Topic: Omeriye Mosque (Omeriye) in Cyprus, Nicosia resort.