Rating: 8,8/10 (476 votes)
The Monastery of the Holy Cross from the outside can be mistaken for a medieval knight's castle. Its inaccessible appearance is harmoniously complemented by a bell tower decorated with a marble clock, as well as the dome of the cathedral, which is part of the architectural ensemble of the monastery. This historical monument was repeatedly mentioned in various legends and legends, was depicted on paintings and inspired poets to create poems.
The exact date of the monastery's construction is unknown, but according to one, the most common version, its construction refers to IV century AD, during the reign of Emperor Constantine. The reconstruction of the monastery of the Holy Cross was carried out in 1855. Large-scale works significantly changed the appearance of the entire monastery, which was complemented by a chapel built to hold daily prayers.
The monastery library at that time acquired many valuable volumes and manuscripts, becoming the largest and most interesting in the region. In the monastery of the Holy Cross, a special room was allocated for a museum. It was the first museum in Jerusalem to include effigy specimens of the local fauna and rare archaeological finds.
We also recommend reading Tomb of Absalom in Israel, Jerusalem resort
Topic: Monastery of the Holy Cross in Israel, Jerusalem resort.