Rating: 7,8/10 ( votes)
The name of this temple translates as Temple of the Evergreen Pine. It is located in the Thunmun District. This Taoist temple was opened in 1949. At first, only villagers visited it. This quiet temple houses some interesting relics like:
Lanterns from the Beijing Imperial Palace that are over 200 years old;
A jade seal, about a thousand years old;
The statues of altar guards that were carved in Beijing about 300 years ago.
The temple is a complex of buildings. They contain urns with the ashes of Hong Kongers. Many people come here to commemorate their deceased friends or relatives on Elderly Day or on Memorial Day.
The main temple is called the Temple of the Pure Light. It was built in 1959 and is dedicated to Lu Dongbin, one of the Eight Immortals. He is considered the patron saint of hairdressers and literature.
Taoist sayings are written on the walls of the temple. At the very entrance to the temple there is a large cast-iron bell, which used to be rung in order to wake up the monks. Opposite the bell is a drum that was used to call workers for dinner.
In addition to the temple, there are pavilions, pagodas, turrets, an artificial hill, Chinese-style gardens, and a pond with goldfish. Ching Chung Koon often hosts bonsai exhibitions.
Entry is free, but donations are encouraged. Only vegetarian food is allowed inside the temple.
We also recommend reading The Yuen Yuen Institute (Yen Yen Institute, Yen Yen Monastery) in China, Hong Kong Resort
Topic: Ching Chung Koon Taoist Temple in China, Hong Kong Resort.