Rating: 8,4/10 (819 votes)
The monastery is located in the city center, at the foot of the Eagle Cross Mountain. For five centuries it has been the residence of the Metropolitans of Montenegro. The Cetinsky Monastery was founded at the end of the 15th century, during the reign of Ivan Chernoevich.
In 1692, when the Turks attacked Montenegro, the monastery was destroyed. At the beginning of the 18th century, the monastery was rebuilt, but not in the same place, but moved to the place where the castle of Ivan Chernoevich used to be (where the monastery is now). During the construction of new buildings of the monastery, fragments of the old monastery were used, in particular, a stone with the coat of arms of Ivan Chernoevich and an old tablet, which is mounted above the entrance. In 1712 the temple was again partially destroyed, but in 1724 it was rebuilt.
It is forbidden to take pictures inside the church, but it is allowed to take pictures outside the monastery.
We also recommend reading Museum of Wax Figures in the Czech Republic, Cesky Krumlov Spa
Topic: Cetinje monastery in Montenegro, resort Cetinje.