Rating: 7,7/10 (656 votes)
The Limassol Fortress is the only structure that has survived natural disasters and wars. The castle is located in the ancient quarters of the city. The fortress was built in the XIV century, during the reign of the Lusignans, before that Byzantine fortifications were placed here.
In 1570 the Turks rebuilt the fortress. Since 1940, with the arrival of the British on the island, it was used as an army headquarters and a prison, and in 1950 it was reconstructed.
In 1974, after dividing the island into two spheres of influence, in the fortress was moved by the exhibits of the Nicosia Museum of the Middle Ages, as its building fell into the buffer zone separating the Turks and Greeks.
Now the Limassol Fortress houses a history museum, where exhibits such as medieval weapons, knightly armor, ancient coins, faience and bronze items, clothing, and a collection of tombstones are exhibited. The largest press for preparing olive oil is exhibited in the courtyard of the fortress.
The collections presented in the museum cover a long period of time from the history of Cyprus (from the time of the arrival of the Crusaders to the transition to Great Britain at the end of the 19th century).
We also recommend reading Church of Saint Paneromeni in Cyprus, Larnaca resort
Topic: Limassol Fortress and Medieval Museum in Cyprus, Limassol resort.