Turkish Fort (Larnaca Fortress) and Medieval Museum in Cyprus, Larnaca Resort
Rating: 8,1/10 (1094 votes)
The Turkish fort was built in 1625 by the Turks, on the site where the castle of the Lusignan period once stood. The main task of the fort was to protect the Larnaca harbor (now no longer exists). During the reign of the Ottoman Empire, all armed ships of the Christian state, before reaching the shore, had to fire a cannon salute, and could enter the port after a return shot was fired from the fort. Permission to enter the harbor was given by the Governor of Cyprus, who lived in Nicosia. While the messenger reached the capital and returned with an answer, the ships waited at the anchorage at the entrance to the harbor.
With the arrival of the British on the island, the fort was turned into a prison.
Currently in a fortress there is a medieval museum. On the ground floor, opposite the ticket office, placed the cannonballs for the catapult and gravestones. On the second floor of the museum, you can see weapons from the times of Turkish rule, armor, objects found during archaeological excavations.
In summer, concerts, performances and other entertainment events are held in the courtyard of the fortress.