Rating: 8,4/10 (254 votes)
Church of St. George description and photos - Estonia: Varska. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The name in English is Church of St. George.
Photo and description
In 1759 in the village of Vyarska there was a small wooden church built by the Pechora monastery in honor of the great martyr George (Yuri). Later, after the construction of a stone church in 1907, the wooden one was destroyed. The new church in Varska took 3 years to build, from 1904 to 1907. The Apostolic Orthodox Church of St. George was erected with the money of local residents.
In 1926 in Tartu, at the Tegur factory, the Georgievsky (Yuryevsky) bell for the stone church was cast. In our time, another bell is ringing over the church, and St. George's is removed and is in the church itself. The temple will be interesting for its interior, inside there are many different icons, including the icon of George of the 17th century.
Opposite the church there is a holy spring, in which they go to "baptize water". There is a cemetery next to the Orthodox Church. Here rests Anne Vabarna (1877 - 1964), who wrote about 150,000 poems, - the largest carrier of the spiritual culture of the Set, as well as the "Peipsi Song" - the poet Paul Haavaoks. There is another cemetery, which is located north of the church, about half a kilometer from it, where the first parish priests of Varska are buried. There are special gravestones in this cemetery, carved in the shape of crosses. Such crosses are not found anywhere else in Estonia.
Topic: Church of St. George description and photos - Estonia: Varska.