Church of St. George description and photos - Bulgaria: Ruse. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Church of St. George the Great Martyr is an Orthodox church in the city of Ruse. Earlier in its place there was a wooden church, which burned down during the Russian-Turkish war of 1806-1812. Catholic Archbishop Peter Bogdan Bakshev, who visited Ruse in 1640, noted that there are two wooden churches in the city - most likely, the Church of St. George and the Church of the Holy Trinity; archaeologist Felix Kanitz believed that the church of St. George is older.
Construction of a new stone building began later, in 1841, and ended a year later. The solemn consecration took place on January 30, 1843. The temple was dug two meters into the ground and measures 32 by 14 meters. Inside there are three altars: the central one for St. George, the northern one for St. Dmitry Basarbovsky and the southern one for St. Nicholas the Wonderworker.
The iconostasis was created by Professor Ivan Travnitsky, and the icons by the painter from Rousse D. Rodoikov. In 1939, the chapel of St. Ivan Rilski was added to the church.
Since 2002, May 6 - St. George's Day - is an official holiday in the city of Ruse.
We also recommend reading Fort Nelson description and photos - Great Britain: Portsmouth
Topic: Church of St. George description and photos - Bulgaria: Ruse.