Rating: 7,9/10 (569 votes)
Church of John the Baptist description and photo - Crimea: Feodosia. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Church of John the Baptist in the port and resort town of Feodosia is one of the oldest churches preserved on the territory of the Crimean peninsula. The year of the beginning of the construction of the temple is considered to be 1348, since it was this date that was found on the stone during the restoration work. Although some scholars claim that the temple was built even earlier.
The Church of St. John the Baptist is a square structure, crowned with a dome and an octagonal drum with loopholed windows. The main hall was previously decorated with stone statues of Nicholas the Wonderworker and John the Baptist and was painted with original frescoes. Only fragments of frescoes have survived to this day, and the statues of saints have disappeared.
With the arrival of the Turks in Kafa (now Feodosia) in 1475, the Church of John the Baptist was renamed into the Quarantine Church, after which the temple fell into disrepair. Only in 1875 the shrine was re-consecrated and received a name in memory of the Iberian Icon of the Mother of God.
It is known that in 1906 KF Bogaevsky and J. Durante were married in this church. K. Bogaevsky is a famous Russian "Cimmerian" artist, a native of Feodosia, who lived in Quarantine. The Church of the Icon of the Iberian Mother of God was his favorite church.
In the difficult revolutionary years, about 7 thousand white officers and soldiers were shot near the monastery. In May 2005, a memorial cross was erected here to the Victims of the Bolshevik Terror of 1918-1920.
In Soviet times, the temple was closed, frescoes and sculptures were mutilated. The church has stood in disrepair for over 7 years. The full restoration of the Church of St. John the Baptist was completed only by 1996. and was led by the sculptor and architect V. Zamekhovsky. The dome with the cross was also restored. The church was consecrated a second time in memory of the Iveron Icon of the Mother of God and returned to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the Moscow Patriarchate. The Cathedral service was conducted by Bishop Lazarus of the Simferopol and Crimean Diocese.
We also recommend reading Church of the Savior on the Sands description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Rostov the Great
Topic: Church of John the Baptist description and photo - Crimea: Feodosia.