Rating: 8,5/10 (7906 votes)
Bridges of Aberdeen description and photos - UK: Aberdeen. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The title in English is Bridges of Aberdeen.
Photo and description
The ancient Scottish city of Aberdeen is located at the mouths of two rivers - Don and Dee, and, like any city on the river, its life is unthinkable without bridges connecting different parts of the city.
The bridge over the river Dee (Bridge Dee) until 1832 was the only way through which it was possible to get to the city from the south. It has seven semicircular arches, the height of the bridge is about 10 meters. The bridge was built in the 16th century by the bishops Elphinstone and Dunbar. In 1718-23. the bridge was almost completely rebuilt, and in 1842 it was expanded twice - from 4 to 8 meters. In 1639, a battle took place at the bridge between the royalists under the command of the Viscount Aboyne and the Covenanters under the command of the Marquis of Montrose.
The St. Devenicus Bridge is a suspended pedestrian bridge over the River Dee. The bridge was built in 1837 and was severely damaged by floods on several occasions. The length of the bridge between the doughs is 55 meters. Now the southern pillar of the bridge is in the middle of the river, which has noticeably changed its course since the construction of the bridge. The deck and railings of the bridge are wooden, little metal was used during the construction, which makes the details of the bridge flexible and mobile. For this, the bridge received the nickname "Shaking Bridge". At the moment, the bridge needs restoration, but it suddenly turned out that it does not belong to anyone and that no one is officially responsible for it. Although its legal status is still unclear, the Aberdeen City Council has chosen to take part in its fate.
Wellington Bridge over the River Dee was built in 1831 and replaced by a ferry. In 1984, the bridge was closed to traffic, and in March 2002 - and to pedestrians. Now the city council plans to reconstruct the bridge and open it as a pedestrian one.
A very beautiful bridge across the Don River was built in 1827-1832. Five granite arches of the bridge have become one of the city's hallmarks.
O'Balgounie Bridge is one of the oldest bridges in Aberdeen. Its construction began at the end of the 13th century. The bridge is built of granite and sandstone, its Gothic arch rises 12 meters above the water, and at low tide - 17 meters. For many years this bridge was the most important transport artery for the eastern part of Aberdeenshire.
We also recommend reading Church of the Holy Trinity description and photo - Russia - Leningrad region: Ivangorod
Topic: Bridges of Aberdeen description and photos - Great Britain: Aberdeen.