Church of St. Nicholas on Podozerie description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Rostov the Great. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Church of St. Nicholas on Podozerie was built on the site of a previously existing old wooden church at the end of 1745 at the expense of parishioners - this circumstance served as a new stage in the stone construction of the city of Rostov after a long ban. It is known that in 1744 Peter the Great issued a decree prohibiting stone construction outside St. Petersburg. For many years, there were wooden churches at this place, the first of which was built before Khan Edigei attacked the Russian lands.
The Church of St. Nicholas is stone, has one chapter, two thrones, one of which is consecrated in the name of St. Nicholas, and the second - in honor of the icon of the Mother of God "Joy of All Who Sorrow", which is especially revered along with the icon of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker. Thanks to the preserved chronicle sources, the history of the temple in detail has come down to our time - thus, we know a lot not only about the construction process, but also about the repair and restoration work carried out in the temple.
At the end of 1744, one of the the priests of another wooden church named Andreev Peter, as well as Nikitin Gregory, the deacon, united with the parish people, decided to appeal to the Yaroslavl and Rostov Metropolitan Arseny with a request for permission to build a wooden stone church in honor of Nicholas the Wonderworker on the site. It was assumed that the church would have a side-chapel consecrated in honor of the Most Holy Theotokos; They wanted to give the old wooden church to the peasants from the village of Shugori, belonging to the Rostov district. The consecration of the newly built church took place in 1751; the process of consecration was carried out by Metropolitan Arseny.
The temple was built of bricks, although the roof was made of wood. The church iconostasis is very beautiful, gilded and carved, while it is made in the Baroque style. To date, there is an inventory dating back to 1853 and telling about the events of that time: the pre-altar iconostasis of St. Nicholas Cathedral was built according to the traditions of baroque fashion, namely in elegant taste. It was displayed on pedestals that divided it into several tiers, equipped with grooved cornices and openwork carvings. The surface of the iconostasis is gilded with pure gold. In addition, the iconostasis was approved on an equal footing with the altar at a supporting wall.
Initially, there was not a single mural in the stone church, but after some time a lot of time and labor was spent to carry out the painting according to the foreseen themes.
Over time, many changes were made to the interior design of St. Nicholas Church, about which there is relevant information. For example, in 1768, a dilapidated wooden roof was replaced with a roof made of tinned iron, which has survived to this day. It is also known that the old roof was replaced exclusively with the money of the parishioners.
At the end of 1832, a new porch was added to the Nikolsky Church. Three years later, a large-scale inventory of all church property was made, and a completely new iconostasis is also mentioned here. At the end of 1845, a high wooden fence was built around the temple. In 1853, the wall painting was finished anew.
In 1853, a new inventory was carried out, which stated that the appointed church in the name of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker was cold; it has a warm side-altar, consecrated in the name of the Most Holy Theotokos - Joy of All Who Sorrow. The division was carried out into the altar part, the temple itself, the porch and the refectory room. The church is one-story, the roof is made with sheet iron and painted with copper paint. On the dome there is a large cross made of iron and gilded with red gold over golfabra. On the head there is an apple attached to the head through iron chains. In the refectory room - the roof covering is sheet and painted with copperhead. On the outside of the temple, the walls are whitewashed with lime, but without plaster.
In 1920, the temple of Nikola was closed. In the 1930s, the head and the bell tower were sorted out, the fence and interior decoration were lost. Today the temple is functioning.
We also recommend reading Holy Spirit Monastery description and photos - Russia - North-West: Veliky Novgorod
Topic: Church of St. Nicholas on Podozerie description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Rostov the Great.