Rating: 7,5/10 (100 votes)
Holy Spirit Monastery description and photos - Russia - Northwest: Veliky Novgorod. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Monastery of the Holy Spirit was first mentioned in the annals in 1162. When the troops of Dmitry Donskoy approached in 1386, it was burned down, like many other monasteries. It was customary to do this in order to deprive the enemy of a place to stay and feed. By the end of the 18th century, the monastery was abolished, the monks were transferred to Valaam, and the Holy Spirit monastery was soon resumed as a women's monastery.
In our time, of all the buildings, only the stone church of the Descent of the Holy Spirit and the refectory of the Trinity Church have survived. They differ sharply from other Novgorod churches by the abundance of decorations and elegant small wooden domes on high narrow drums. Both buildings are not plastered, but left in their original form, which allows you to see the features of the brickwork.
We also recommend reading Svyato-Voznesensky Skete description and photos - Russia - North-West: Solovetsky Islands
Topic: Holy Spirit Monastery description and photos - Russia - North-West: Veliky Novgorod.