Rating: 7,6/10 (400 votes)
The Seaman's House Museum is the oldest building in Oulu, Finland. The house was built in 1739 until the 1880s. was located within the city, on one of the central streets. However, later the house, after restoration, was transported to the island of Pikisaari.
The sailor's house, formerly called Matila's house, was used for some time as the Limink's customs house. As a museum, the house has been open since 1989. Its exposition represents the original furnishings of a fishing house of that time. Museum visitors can get acquainted with the life and simple life of sailors, in particular, with the life of Isaac Matila, who lived in this house.
For example, by visiting the house-museum of a sailor, you will learn about one very interesting tradition of sailors. In every house, two figures of dogs stood at the window. When the owner was at home the dogs were put looking inside the house, and when he left, they turned their muzzles to the window. So the neighbors found out if the head of the family was at home.
The Seaman's House Museum is open from May to September.
We also recommend reading Botanical Garden of the University of Finland, Oulu Resort
Topic: Seaman's House Museum in Finland, Oulu resort.