Rating: 8,6/10 (400 votes)The Eagle and Child Pub is one of the oldest pubs in Oxford. He gained fame due to the fact that it was in it that meetings of the Inklings literary circle took place, which included Clive Staples Lewis and John Ronald Ruel Tolkien. The pub is owned by St. John's College. The back, where the pub is located, was first mentioned in connection with the period of the English Revolution. During the Civil War, Oxford was the seat of the Royalists, and the Chancellor of the Exchequer lived in the house where the pub is today. This data is at variance with other sources who claim that The Eagle and Child was built after the Civil War in 1650. The name of the pub was first mentioned in 1684, when its owner, Richard Platt, was licensed to use a sign depicting a crown with an eagle and a child. From the 16th century until 2003, the pub was owned by the University College of Oxford University. It was put up for sale in 2003 and was acquired by St. John's College a year later. The Inkling Literature Club met in the pub every Tuesday from 11:30 am to 1:00 pm from 1939 to 1962. In addition to J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S.Lews, who taught at St. Magdalene's College, the circle included Owen Barfield, Ada Fox, Christopher Tolkien, Charles Williams, and others. The Inklings read to each other excerpts from the works they had just written, shared creative plans, and discussed new literature. It is possible that it was here that the lines of Tolkien's famous work"The Lord of the Rings" were first read.
We also recommend reading Church of St. Catherine in Germany, Hamburg resort
Topic: The Eagle and Child Pub in the UK, Oxford Resort.