Rating: 8,2/10 (306 votes)
Guardhouse – central square in Frankfurt am Main. To the east of the square – Zeil shopping street. A subway line runs under the square.
The original name of the square is – Schillerplatz. At the beginning of the 20th century, it was renamed the Guardhouse. The name is derived from the building overlooking the square – the baroque building of the headquarters of the city police, built in 1730. Prison premises were also located here.
In the 18th century, this building housed the city's own garrison, which was stormed in 1833 by a small group of defeated revolutionaries. After Prussia absorbed the city, the guardhouse lost its significance. Then the police station was located here. In 1904, a cafe was opened in the guardhouse building, which still works today. During the Second World War, the building was badly damaged. In its place in 1954 a building was erected – a copy of the first. Only the roof of the building began to look different. During the construction of the metro station, this building was demolished, and a new one was built over the new station.
Large-scale restoration work was carried out on the square in 1978, during the construction of the railway station. The square has been rebuilt many times. Today it is a large ground and underground terrace. It is dotted with shops, cafes, metro stations and transport stops. The buildings in the square represent a variety of architectural styles, from Baroque to Art Nouveau.
We also recommend reading Church of St. Nicholas in Germany, resort of Frankfurt am Main
Topic: Guardhouse in Germany, resort of Frankfurt am Main.