Rating: 8,1/10 (224 votes)
Piazza San Carlo is one of the most important and beautiful squares in the city. In length, the area reaches 168 meters, in width – 76 meters. Nowadays, the square is often used for city events and celebrations.
Previously, the square had different names: Royal Square, Army Square, Napoleon Square. The square acquired its current name from the Basilica of St. Charles, erected here in the 17th century.
The current appearance of the square was formed in the 18th century, with the participation of Carlo di Castellamonti. Prior to that, the square was formed by the paired Baroque churches of St. Christina and St. Charles, and beautiful palaces. In the 18th century, the facade of the Basilica of Saint Cristina was changed, construction work was carried out under the direction of Filippo Juvarra. The Basilica of St. Charles also changed its appearance in 1834.
In 1838, an equestrian monument to Emmanuel Philibert, Duke of Savoy, was erected in the central part of the square. The monument was made of bronze by Carlo Marocchetti.
There are also many cozy cafes on the square, where the artistic and political elite of the city often gathered.
We also recommend reading Valentines Park in Italy, Turin resort
Topic: Piazza San Carlo in Italy, Turin resort.