Rating: 8,0/10 (2453 votes)
Castello Maniace is an ancient castle located at the entrance to the city harbor on a promontory.
The castle was erected in 1232-1240 by order of Frederick Second. The building got its name in honor of the Byzantine commander George Maniak. The castle is now one of the most popular attractions in the city. Initially, the castle could be reached by a bridge thrown over the moat, but recently the moat was filled up.
Earlier on the site of the castle there was a fortress, built in 1038 by Georgy Maniak. In the 13th century, the castle was rebuilt by the architect Riccardo da Lentini. Soon after the completion of construction work, Pedro the Third of Aragonese moved in with his family.
Almost two centuries – from 1305 to 1536 – the castle served as the residence of the Sicilian queens. Later, the castle was part of the fortified structures that protected the city's harbor. In the 18th century, the building was restored and firearms were installed.
At the end of the 18th century, Ferdinand III gave Castello Maniace to Admiral Horatio Nelson. Later, Bridport took possession of the castle, who married Nelson's niece. The Bridports owned the estate until 1982, when they sold the castle to the government of Syracuse.
We also recommend reading Via della Maestranza in Italy, Sicily resort
Topic: Castello Maniace in Italy, Sicily resort.