Rating: 8,7/10 (714 votes)
Fort of St. Nicholas – the second of the two fortifications of the Old Port of Marseille. It was built by order of King Louis XIV in 1664.
Once on the site of this fort there was a Catholic chapel of St. Nicholas, it gave the name to the future building. Numerous attacks from the south have time and again affected the integrity of the buildings located here abbey. By the 15th century, little remained of the abbey, except for the very chapel.
The construction of the new fort was completed in record time for that time – in just 4 years. The remains of the old fortress wall, as well as a stone brought from the neighboring province, were used as building materials.
The Great Revolution tried to show its destructive power here too. At the beginning of 1790, the enraged Jacobins approached the walls of the fort with one goal - and ndash; destroy the symbol of royalty in Marseille. They practically managed to do this, but a special decree intervened, which did not allow the destruction of defensive structures.
1823 was the year of another change for the fort – all of its interiors become prison cells, and the fort itself is declared a general regime prison. The fortress of St. Nicholas performed these functions until 1945.
In 1969, the Fort was included in the list of protected architectural objects and partially open to visitors. Its central part is still used by the French armed forces.
We also recommend reading Fort Saint Jean in France, Marseille resort
Topic: Fort of Saint Nicholas in France, Marseille resort.