Rating: 7,5/10 (100 votes)
The Monastery of San Giacomo was founded by Count Giacomo Arcucci in 1363. The count received these lands as a gift from Giovanna the First of Naples, who also sponsored the construction of the monastery. Later, Giacomo got his hair cut as a monk, but died during a coup d'etat.
In the 16th century, the monastery complex was plundered. In the same century, it was thoroughly restored and rebuilt, with funds collected from local residents. After the outbreak of the plague, the inhabitants of the city came to the monastery, but the monks refused to let them in. Over the years, the townspeople have shown hatred of the monks.
In 1806, a defensive tower collapsed, what was perceived by the locals as an omen of disaster. In the same year, Napoleon abolished the monastery, in connection with which the Carthusians were forced to leave the complex and the island itself.
In the 1980s, the monastery underwent a number of reconstruction works, during which some outbuildings, monks' cells and other structures have been restored.
We also recommend reading Villa Lisi in Italy, Capri resort
Topic: Carthusian monastery of San Giacomo in Italy, Capri resort.