Rating: 7,5/10 (100 votes)
Santa Maria case Spasimo is a dilapidated monastery church. In 1520, specially for this church, a canvas was acquired depicting the fall of Christ under the weight of the Crucifixion. For a long time, the painting was privately owned, until Ferdinando d'Ayala presented it to Philip the Fifth. The painting is currently in the Prado Museum (Madrid).
In 1506, Giacomo Basilico, a local lawyer, donated the land to the monks. Basilico set the condition – the church erected on this site must be consecrated in honor of the Suffering Mother of God. The construction of the temple began in 1509, but it was never completed. Due to the threat of an attack by Turkish troops, it was decided to restore and strengthen the defensive walls. In 1537, a defensive moat was built through the territory of the basilica.
30 years later, these lands were bought by the municipality of Palermo for military purposes, the monks had to leave the unfinished sanctuary. In 1582 the temple was used for public performances. Later the church was used as an infirmary, even later there was a warehouse here.
In the 18th century, the vaults of the central nave collapsed and were never rebuilt. In 1855-1985, the church housed a hospital and an orphanage. Today, the church is a cultural center, where theater and music shows and exhibitions are often held.
We also recommend reading Via Liberta in Italy, Sicily resort
Topic: Santa Maria case Spasimo in Italy, Sicily resort.