Rating: 8,4/10 (9002 votes)
The Church of San Giorgio Maggiore is located on the island of San Giorgio Maggiore.
The church was built in 1566-1610. The author of the project was the architect Andrea Palladio. After the death of the architect, the cathedral was completed by his pupil Scamozzi.
The basilica has three naves with six chapels. There are also two chapels in the transept. The main altar of the church, by the sculptor Girolamo Campagna, was decorated with a sculpture of Christ standing on a ball supported by four evangelists.
The belfry of the cathedral was built on the site of the collapsed belfry in 1791.
In 1800, Pius the Seventh was crowned in the church, elected pope at a conclave in Venice.
In 1808, Napoleon closed the island's monastery and cathedral. Later, the buildings were changed beyond recognition and turned into barracks. In 1951, the monastery was acquired and restored by Count Vittorio Cini.
In our time, the cathedral contains a part of Tintoretto's paintings – The Last Supper and many others. Also here is the tombstone of Domenico Michele – 35th Doge of Venice, created by Balthazar Longena in 1640.
The Temple of San Giorgio Maggiore, along with other attractions in Venice, has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
We also recommend reading Palazzo Rucellai in Italy, resort of Florence
Topic: Cathedral of San Giorgio Maggiore in Italy, Venice resort.