Rating: 7,8/10 (2039 votes)
The Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker is a cultural monument located in the northern part of the city of Stuttgart.
The first church in the city appeared in connection with the arrival of Princess Ekaterina Pavlovna here for the wedding with William the First. At the time, it was an ordinary parish church located in Furstenbau, now defunct. In 1819, after the death of the queen, the church was moved to the temple on Rotenberg, built over her grave.
In 1842, thanks to Prince A.M. Gorchakov was given a special camp church at the Russian mission. In 1846, this church was visited by the Grand Duchess Olga Nikolaevna. In 1854, the mission church was closed. Since 1864, the temple was located in the Grand Palace. After Olga Nikolaevna's death, the church was moved to the Villa Berg, which at that time belonged to Princess Vera Konstantinovna.
In 1894, Alexander III approved a project to build a new separate church in the name of St. Nicholas ... A small area was chosen as the site for the construction. The foundation stone of the building took place in May 1895. The design was carried out by Ludwig Eisenlor, a German architect.
The consecration of the temple took place in December 1895. The iconostasis and other church accessories that had been kept in the Villa Berg were moved here.
During the First World War, the temple was closed. During the Second World War, the temple was badly damaged – utensils and decorations were burnt down, the dome and bell tower also collapsed. During the reconstruction work carried out in the 1950s, the temple was completely restored and acquired its present appearance. In the 70s of the same century Nikolai Shelikhov carried out painstaking work to restore the iconostasis.
We also recommend reading Marktplatz in Germany, resort of Stuttgart
Topic: Church of St. Nicholas in Germany, Stuttgart resort.