Rating: 8,6/10 (2856 votes)
Vlassky dvor is a cultural monument, which is a closed complex of buildings dating back to the XIII – XIV centuries.
Originally it was a powerful fortified fortress, which appeared before the city itself, and functioned as a warehouse for mined silver ore. To protect the ore, a residence for the royal official was also established here.
In the 14th century, the Mint was built here. Later, King Wenceslas II, on the basis of a monetary reform, transferred here all the Mints located at that time in Prague, Jihlava, Brno and other Czech cities.
Italian specialists were invited to minting a new high-quality coin , who have worked at the Mint for several decades. On the ground floor of the complex, there was a chasing shop and a forge, in which the metal was formed.
At the end of the 14th century, a reconstruction was carried out here, which significantly influenced the appearance of the object. From the end of the 15th century, the supreme ruler of the court lived near the court, who oversaw the minting of coins.
Due to new premises intended for the treasury, the royal residence was expanded. In 1727, the Mint was closed due to a reduction in silver mining.
Subsequently, the Mint was often rebuilt, suffered fires, during the Napoleonic Wars, a hospital was located here, and later a prison.
We also recommend reading Cathedral of St. Barbara in the Czech Republic, resort Kutna Hora
Topic: Vlassky dvor in the Czech Republic, Kutna Hora resort.