Rating: 7,8/10 (4565 votes)
Palazzo Grimani is a beautiful palace located on the Rio di San Luca canal. The building was built during the Renaissance and acquired its present appearance during the reconstruction work carried out in 1556-1575. Nowadays, the palace houses the Venetian Court of Appeal.
Initially, the palazzo was built for Antonio Grimani. In 1532-1569, after the death of the first owner, the palace was first rebuilt by the Attorney General Vittore Grimani, and then the Patriarch of Aquileia and Cardinal Giovanni Grimani. The palace was finished by Giovanni Rusconi in 1575. The doorway was designed by Alessandro Vittoria. The facade of the palazzo was decorated with multi-colored marble.
The highlight of the interior is the & Hall of Psyche, which is decorated with frescoes by painters Camilo Mantovano, Francesco Menzocchi and Francesco Salviati. Giovanni da Udine and Taddeo Zuccaro also participated in the design of the building.
Palazzo Grimani, along with other sights of Venice, was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.
We also recommend reading Bridge delle Guglie in Italy, Venice resort
Topic: Palazzo Grimani in Italy, Venice resort.