Rating: 7,8/10 (194 votes)
After in 1714 Barcelona was surrendered to Philip the Fifth, who ended his Catalan rights, the Duke of Berwick ordered the creation of a military fortress, from which one could observe the city. For its construction, most of the La Ribera quarter was demolished. The construction of the fortress began in 1715. For a century, the fortress performed its functions, in 1869 it was given to the city authorities so that they could rebuild it into a city park. Only three buildings remained from the fortress: the chapel, the governor's palace and the arsenal, rebuilt in 1932.
Jean Forestier was the author of the garden project. The fountains in the center of the garden were created by Josep Fonceret with the help of the then young Gaudi. The cascade of fountains is crowned with a triumphal arch, which is decorated with bas-reliefs.
The brick castle of the Three Dragons was built as a cafe for visitors to the World's Fair. Since 1920, it has housed the Zoological Museum. A long building was built behind the castle especially for the Geological Museum. Next is the greenhouse.
In the park is Barcelona Zoo. It is considered one of the most comfortable and beautiful in Europe. In this zoo there are no aviaries and cages – animal territories are fenced off from each other by moats with water.
We also recommend reading National Roman Museum in Italy, Rome resort
Topic: Parc de la Ciutadella in Spain, Barcelona resort.