Rating: 7,6/10 (1506 votes)
Today, only ruins remain from the Migdal Tzedek fortress, located near the ancient city of Antipatris. The name 'Migdal Tzedek' translated means `` Tower of Justice. ''
According to one of the versions, the fortress was named after Ahmed Tzadeki – a Bedouin sheikh who lived here in the 19th century, who was engaged in `` tax collection ''. Later, Tsadeki was exiled by the Turks to the island of Trebizond, and his name was preserved in the name of the fortress.
Under the crusaders and pharaohs, the caravan route to Jerusalem from Jaffa was controlled from the fortress.
Approximately in In the 5-6th century, a monastery was built on this site by Byzantine monks, dedicated to the great martyr Kyriakos, as evidenced by a plate embedded in the wall, called Tabula Sata. This wall was the outer wall of the monastery; here you can see the cut-through loopholes. Subsequently, the crusaders built a fortress on this place.
Among the ruins of the village of Majadal Tsadik, the Mirabel castle is also interesting. In the 7th century, this castle was the property of the Ibelin family. Later, the Turks rebuilt the castle, from the old days, food warehouses and inns were preserved in it.
We also recommend reading Palazzo Grassi in Italy, Venice resort
Topic: Ruins of the fortress Migdal Afek (Migdal Tzedek) in Israel, Tel Aviv resort.