Rating: 8,3/10 (7804 votes)
Trinity Church description and photo - Ukraine: Kamyanets-Podolsk. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The first documentary mention of the Orthodox Trinity Church dates back to 1582. It is possible that an even more ancient temple of the XIII-XIV centuries was built in its place earlier. In the documents of the 17th century, when the Turkish nobility was in power, the church served as a mosque, and after the Turks left the city, it was given to the Greek Catholics and it became a cathedral.
In 1722, the Lviv Uniate bishop was Basilian monks settled in the Trinity Church, and it was they who founded the monastery here. In 1749, the monks built a bell tower at the temple, and in 1759 organized a school of theology at the Trinity Monastery, which was small, only fifteen students, but it was this school that made it possible to become a monk.
In 1793, Podolia became part of Russia, and the Uniate churches became Orthodox. And Troitskaya remained among them again. Since that time, the Trinity Monastery has come to the main positions for the city, and since 1806 its rector has been acting as the rector of the Podolsk Theological Seminary.
In 1855, the reconstruction of the Trinity Church was completely completed. The church itself is small, about 23.5 meters long and 7.1 meters wide. The western part is separated from the middle part by an arch.
In Soviet times, the temple was fully resolved, but in the 90s of the XX century it was restored on the old foundation.
Topic: Trinity Church description and photo - Ukraine: Kamyanets-Podilsky.