Sretenskaya Church description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Murom (Topic)

Traval Articles » Travel » Sretenskaya Church description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Murom

Sretenskaya Church description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Murom

Rating: 8,2/10 (900 votes)
Sretenskaya church description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Murom

Sretenskaya church description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Murom. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.

Photo and description

Sretenskaya church is located in Murom, on K. Marx street, 55. It was erected in 1795 with donations from the merchant of the 1st guild Ivan Nikiforovich Zvorykin instead of the former wooden temple of Dimitri Solunsky with Sretenskaya " warm "church. In the place where the old couple of churches were built, there are residential buildings today.

The Dimitrievsky temple has been known at this place, in the west of ancient Murom, since 1574. Sources of 1624 indicate that the construction was carried out at the expense of merchants from Moscow, who are referred to as "Smirnov and Tretyak Mikitin Sudovshchikov". At the end of the 18th century, at the Church of Demetrius of Thessalonica, a temple was erected in the name of the Presentation of the Lord, which later gave the name to the new brick church.

The Sretensky Church has one chapter, is distinguished by a simple decor, characteristic of provincial architecture. Built in the style of classicism. Figured platbands with late Baroque details adorn the windows of the temple. The cupola is especially beautiful. She is small, she is decorated with oblique stripes, reminiscent of the heads of the Moscow Cathedral of St. Basil the Blessed. The bell tower was also built in the classicism style and has 3 tiers.

In 1829, the chapel of the Archangel Michael appeared in the church, since in 1801 the parish of the church of the same name was attributed to the church, which had been located in the Murom Kremlin for a long time (the church has not survived). In 1888-1892, the temple underwent changes, the refectory was significantly expanded. It was designed not in the classic style, but in the “neo-Russian” style, which was fashionable at that time.

The temple became famous thanks to its main shrine - the Life-giving Cross of the Lord, nicknamed by the residents "Sretensky". The cross is currently kept in the museum. A legend is associated with this shrine, which tells about the miraculous healing of many Murom residents during a terrible plague in the 17th century. One of the sick residents saw a vision in which he was supposed to arrive at the Dimitrievsky temple and venerate the cross located there. This man was no longer able to move, therefore, having gathered his last strength, he crawled to the church and received healing at the cross. The news of this miracle spread instantly, and a large number of the sick went to the temple. Almost all people were crawling, hence the name of the street where the church stands - Vypolzova (before the revolutionary events it was called Sretenskaya). Every year, on the Feast of the Presentation of the Lord (February 15), the priests and believers of Murom perform in the museum in front of the cross a water-blessing prayer with the singing of an akathist.

In Soviet times, the Sretensky temple was abolished and plundered. Under the pretext of helping the starving people in the Volga region, all valuables were removed from it. In 1929, a fitness club was set up in the building. Some time later, the bell tower suffered from a lightning strike, and it was dismantled into bricks up to the 1st tier. In a crippled cubic building without a chapter and a bell tower, it would be difficult to recognize a church. The temple basement was repeatedly flooded with sewage, which seriously damaged the foundation.

In the 1980s, an office for the production of monuments was set up here, and only in 1998 the temple was handed over to believers. His condition was very serious - there was a crack along the entire northern wall, the building collapsed. The rector of the church, Peter (Kibalyuk), began work on the reconstruction of the building, but there were very few forces and funds for this.

Later, the courtyard of the Murom Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya monastery was located in the Sretensky temple. Already in 1998, a chapel was opened in the aisle, the chapter was gradually restored, and more recently − and a bell tower. At present, the temple has been almost completely restored; regular services are held in it.

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

We also recommend reading Mermaid description and photo - Crimea: Koreiz - Miskhor

Topic: Sretenskaya Church description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Murom.Sretenskaya Church description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Murom

Author: Kelly Costine