Rating: 8,0/10 (690 votes)
Jesuit church description and photo - Ukraine: Vinnytsia. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Jesuit Church is a striking historical object of the city of Vinnytsia. The construction of the majestic church began in 1610. By 1617, the construction of the Jesuit church was completed. In 1778 the church was damaged by fire, but was soon restored. In 1891, part of its wall collapsed from the side of the main facade. Small parts of the premises were renovated in 1901. The renovation of the building began in 1907.
As a defense against ill-wishers, the Jesuits fenced the complex with thick walls, and erected towers at their corners. The external appearance of the church began to resemble a solid fortress. These walls (muras) are the only fortifications that have survived in the city.
The almost unadorned church faces towards Soborna Street. The structure has three naves, a basement and a cross vaults. The middle nave on the facade corresponds to a risalit with four pilasters of the Tuscan order, carrying a triangular pediment. An extended monastery building (convict) is attached to the opposite end of the church. The monastery was built parallel to the bank of the Southern Bug and seemed to slide to the river - as evidenced by the three buttresses between the small windows. A chapel-chapel was attached to the same wall. The facade is enlivened by the elaborate architraves of niches - false windows.
Due to multiple reconstructions and frequent changes of owners, it is now difficult to guess what the original appearance of the complex was. Now some parts of the building are being restored.
Today the Jesuit Church houses the regional archive.
We also recommend reading Church of Notre Dame de la Guerison description and photos - Italy: Val d'Aosta
Topic: Jesuit church description and photo - Ukraine: Vinnytsia.