Rating: 8,2/10 (1398 votes)
Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos description and photos - Russia - Ural: Khanty-Mansiysk. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Church of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary is an active Orthodox church in the city of Khanty-Mansiysk. Unfortunately, there is still no exact information in which year the first church was built on this site.
From the Kungur Chronicle it became known that the Cossack Ermak in 1582, after three days in strict fasting, and hoping for God's help, defeated the army of Khan Kuchum located near Tobolsk. In 1583, the Cossacks under the leadership of R. Bryazga, going down the Irtysh, conquered the Ostyaks, whose fortress stood on the place where the river port is today. Most likely, the first wooden church in the name of Nicholas the Wonderworker, which previously stood on the site of the modern Church of the Intercession of the Mother of God, was erected by the Cossacks.
In 1712-1714 the Metropolitan of Tobolsk, Schema-monk Theodore Leshchinsky, who, on his missionary trips to Ugra, baptized Voguls and Ostyaks, destroyed pagan temples and built new churches, passed through Samarovo. It is likely that he was the one who erected the church in Samarovo.
In the XVI-XVII centuries. the territory of Khanty-Mansiysk was constantly attacked by enemies. Therefore, in 1808, local residents, having collected funds, wrote a petition to Tobolsk, which stated a request for the construction of a new stone church. The building of the temple was erected by 1815 according to the project of the architect Shangin.
In the Soviet years, the church was plundered, the walls were dismantled. After a while, a fish factory was built from the disassembled materials, and a fish club appeared on the site of the church. Over time, the club was dismantled. Since 1994, excavations have taken place here, during which archaeologists discovered the foundation of the temple. In 1996, work began on the restoration of the church. The construction of the church was completed in 2001, after which it was consecrated.
The Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos has two side-chapels - north and south. The main altar of the church was consecrated in honor of the feast of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos.
We also recommend reading Sculptures ”Plyos cat” and ”Summer resident” description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Ples
Topic: Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos description and photos - Russia - Ural: Khanty-Mansiysk.