Rating: 8,0/10 (363 votes)
Church of the Nativity of Christ description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Yaroslavl. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
Between 1635 and 1644, a church was built on one of the banks of the Volga, consecrated in the name of the Nativity of Christ. Earlier on this place was the Nativity Church built of wood, in the building of which in 1609 the inhabitants of Yaroslavl were able to preserve the miraculous icon depicting the Kazan Mother of God. members of the people's militia in 1612. The brothers received from Mikhail Romanov a valuable certificate of merit and were awarded the title of "sovereign guests". The plan for the construction of the temple was truly grandiose, for this reason, the brothers did not even have enough money to complete it - the construction was completed only in 1644 with the funds allocated by the sons of famous brothers.
The ensemble of the Nativity Church stands on the very bank of the Volga and creates its incredible silhouette, in which other churches take part. This ensemble consists of a church building and a hipped-roof bell tower located nearby, which amazes when you look at it. In addition, the bell tower also serves as the Holy Gates located in the fence of the complex.
As for the main volume of the Church of the Nativity of Christ, it is especially similar to the Church of St. Nicholas Nadein, five-domed and standing on a high basement. The temple is surrounded by a two-tiered gallery on three sides, as well as a house-like porch, located on the side of the western facade and leading directly to the highest tier of the gallery. Side-chapels were arranged in the galleries on the south and north sides. An important difference between the Nativity Church and the Church of Nikola Nadein is that there was no bell tower in the corner of the gallery, because it was located completely separately and was connected to the church by means of a covered arched passage, added in 1644 by the sons of Nazarev Guria. In addition, there were also changes that were not anticipated in the original construction plan - from the south-west, the Kazan side-chapel was added to the church, which significantly expanded the gallery. In the middle of the 18th century, a new cross was put up over the dome, which has survived to this day.
Initially, only the northern side-altar, located in the lower church, was consecrated in the Church of the Nativity of Christ; it was consecrated in honor of Nicholas the Wonderworker, who has long been considered the true patron saint of travelers and merchants. If you think about it, it becomes clear that this was done for a reason, because the Nazariev merchants conducted extensive trade, traveled a lot around the country and abroad.
For a long time, the temple was not painted, but in 1683 year, the artel of Yaroslavl masters made frescoes located in the central part. All works were commissioned by Ivan Guryev and his sons. Until now, no information about the masters has survived, although scientists believe that eminent Yaroslavl masters - Dmitry Semyonov, Fedor Ignatiev, could have taken part in the process.
In the matter of decorating the Nativity Church, it is important to note that it is luxuriously decorated with the help of irrigation tiles of various shapes: quadrangles, ribbons and sockets. The five-domed temple was covered with green and yellow glazed tiles of various shades. The decorative design of the temple stands out due to the presence of an unusual temple-created inscription, which is completely made in tiles.
The bell tower at the church deserves special attention due to its elegance. It is represented by a pillar with a hipped roof and a ringing tier. The bell tower is not only built for its immediate purpose, but is also a versatile structure, which includes a belfry, double gates, a tower equipped with a clock and a small church. In the plan, the bell tower is rectangular, and at its corners there are two small hipped-roof towers, which emphasize the aspiration of the main volume upward.
Over the course of time, the appearance of the Church of the Nativity of Christ has changed a lot, because the four domes of the temple disappeared, and the arcade leading to the bell tower was dismantled. During the Soviet years, the temple was closed, although in the 1920s it was restored. Now the church belongs to the Yaroslavl Museum-Reserve.
We also recommend reading Museu Nacional de Machado de Castro description and photos - Portugal: Coimbra
Topic: Church of the Nativity of Christ description and photos - Russia - Golden Ring: Yaroslavl.