Rating: 8,6/10 (194 votes)
Dominican Church of St. Nicholas description and photo - Ukraine: Kamyanets-Podolsk. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Dominican Church of St. Nicholas is located in the city of Kamyanets-Podolsky, at st. Dominican, 3. This is the oldest temple in the city, and it was erected at the highest point of the city. There is no reliable information about the time of construction, but the temple was first mentioned in records from 1372, three years after the proclamation by Pope Gregory XI (1329 - 1378) and the creation of the Podolsk episcopate, the center of which was Kamenets.
was built from wood. But the building did not stand even for half a century: due to a strong fire in 1420 it was completely destroyed. And in the 16th century, under the leadership of a representative of the Potocki family, a stone church was erected, consecrated in honor of St. Nicholas. Further, the temple was reconstructed into a mosque in honor of Rabiya Gul-Nush - the wife of the then ruling sultan Haseki. This happened in 1672, when the Turks captured the city of Kamenets-Podolsk. But this practically did not make any architectural changes, then only a fountain, a minbar (pulpit for reading the Friday sermon) and a tombstone in the name of the daughter of an Ottoman high-ranking official were installed on the territory.
In 1754, Count M.F. Pototsky financed the complete reconstruction of the temple. Then the coat of arms of the Potocki family was placed on the facade and a sculpture was installed depicting a dog with a torch - the emblem of the Dominicans, also called “the dogs of the Lord.”
After the Right Bank Ukraine passed under the rule of the Russian Empire (1793), the Empress Catherine II signed a decree on the creation of the Podolsk episcopate, but already the Orthodox Church. Until the beginning of the twentieth century. in the building of the temple were located: a Catholic seminary, tax collection office, painting school, library, museum. And during the Soviet period it was closed and used as a prison, later as an archive, then as a warehouse. Another restoration began in 1998 under the leadership of the Pauline fathers.
We also recommend reading Torre del Greco description and photos - Italy: Campania
Topic: Dominican Church of St. Nicholas description and photo - Ukraine: Kamyanets-Podilsky.