Rating: 8,2/10 (2433 votes)
Ruins of the Chernokozintsky episcopal castle description and photos - Ukraine: Kamyanets-Podilsky. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The ruins of the Chernokozintsy episcopal castle are located above the Zbruch river in the village of Chernokozintsy, Kamenets-Podilsky district, Khmelnitsky region. From the 15th to the 18th century, Chernokozintsy was the so-called summer residence of the Catholic bishops of the city of Kamenets-Podolsk. This settlement very often suffered from enemy raids, for this reason a defensive castle was built on the fairly high left bank of the Zbruch River in the second half of the 14th century. The ruins of this castle have survived to this day.
In 1588, King of Poland Stefan Batory granted the Magdeburg rights to the Chernokozin people. In 1674, the inhabitants of Chernokozintsy fell under the yoke of the Turkish yoke, like the entire Podolsk region. For this reason, the castle was completely destroyed, but after a while it was rebuilt again thanks to the funds of the episcopal see of Kamenets-Podolsk. Only the 18th century gates have survived from the bishops' residence, which are still used for their intended purpose.
During the First World War, fierce and bloody battles were fought here. And in memory of them, trenches used at that time have been preserved on the territory of the castle.
The castle in Chernokozintsy boasts a good literary career. Vladimir Dal in 1831 wrote a unique legend about Prince Koriatovich, the owner of this castle and his own sister, about how the Tatars attacked them. And in 1842, the 19th century Polish prose writer Hadzkiewicz wrote a wonderful collection of stories called Chernokozinsky Castle. True, the events described in it (about
We also recommend reading Blackpool Zoo description and photos - Great Britain: Blackpool
Topic: Ruins of the Chernokozinets Episcopal Castle description and photos - Ukraine: Kamyanets-Podilsky.