Rating: 8,4/10 (3432 votes)
Pont Notre-Dame description and photos - France: Paris. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The title in English is Pont Notre-Dame.
Photo and description
The history of the Notre Dame bridge, which connects the Isle of Cite and the Quay Gevre, is a listing of the constant misfortunes that people have methodically fought and coped with.
Crossing on this the place was part of the main street of Lutetia even before the Romans conquered Gaul. When in 52 BC. e. Roman troops approached Lutetia, the townspeople burned all the crossings leading to the island of Cite. The Romans built a new stone bridge. In 885-886, after the siege of the city by the Normans, the bridge was destroyed, and a small bridge was built instead - at first it did not even reach the Cite, but was used only by fishermen. It served for a long time, but in 1406 a flood destroyed it. However, there was not enough crossing at this place, and in 1413 Charles VI ordered to build here a solid wooden bridge with houses on it. This bridge has already been named Notre Dame. Sixty houses, considered the most beautiful in all of France, stood on it.
After 86 years, it also collapsed. The foundation for the construction of the new bridge was laid in the same year, but so far they have been ferrying. A new bridge - arched, stone - appeared in 1507. Again sixty houses with the same gabled roofs were erected on it. There were many shops among them, and the bridge quickly became one of the commercial centers of the city. Perhaps it was here for the first time in history that houses had numbers, on the one hand - even, on the other - odd.
Between 1746 and 1788, all the houses on the bridge were demolished. This process was depicted by the famous French landscape painter of the 18th century Robert Hubert, who loves to paint the ruins. In the painting Demolition of Houses on the Notre Dame Bridge, some of the buildings have already been demolished, part - half collapsed. The viewer seems to be on the banks of the Seine: there is no embankment, the walkways for boats are visible, the boats themselves and people gazing at the transforming bridge.
In 1853, a new bridge with five arches was built on the old foundation. In nineteen years, at least thirty-five times the barges crashed into the supports, and the bridge was popularly called the Devil's. I had to remove the three central arches and replace them with a new structure, already metal. The Notre Dame Bridge in its present form was opened in 1919.
We also recommend reading Cascata delle Marmore waterfall description and photos - Italy: Umbria
Topic: Pont Notre-Dame description and photos - France: Paris.