Rating: 9,0/10 (1232 votes)
Estate of Counts Borchs (Grafu Borhu dzimtas muizas apbuves kompleksu ar parku) description and photo - Latvia: Preili Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The name in English is Grafu Borhu dzimtas muizas apbuves kompleksu ar parku.
Photo and description
The estate of the Borkh counts is located in the town of Preili. In general, such a complex of buildings, including a castle, a chapel, a stable, etc., was typical in the landscape and architecture of the Preili District of the 19th century. The following structures have been fully or partially preserved from the complex of buildings on the estate of the Counts Borkh: the castle itself, the chapel, the gatehouse, the stable, the gardener's and servants' houses, the park gate, as well as fragments of the protective wall.
The Borkh family plays a significant role in the history of Preili. Their roots come from southern Italy, where they were feudal owners. This family from Naples (a kingdom in southern Italy) moved to Germany. In the 13th century, some of them moved to Pomerania, another clan branch settled in Poland, and the third moved to Livonia.
The manor chapel is located in the park. It was built by Count Joseph Heinrich Borch in 1817 as a family temple of the family estate. The custom of building chapels at the estates arose in the 70s of the 18th century after the church authorities forbade burying the dead in churches. Therefore, those who could afford it began to build personal chapels, in the basements of which tombs for burial were built.
Every day, services were held in the chapel by the priest who lived in the estate. The service was attended by both members of the family of the counts and the workers of the estate.
The chapel was destroyed during the Second World War. For several decades after that, nothing was done to restore the chapel. In 1995, the Preili Roman Catholic Church restored ownership of the chapel. Since that time, an important historical object has been kept in order and periodically restored.
Today, first of all, the chapel is interesting from the point of view of artistic works on religious themes. Here you can look at copies of famous paintings by Renaissance artists - Michelangelo, Botticelli, Murillo, Correggio.
There are various legends about this chapel. For example, they say that ghosts have been seen here many times. Which, however, were not evil and not dangerous.
Today the Borchov family park is also a city park. Huge trees grow here. The territory of the Preili Park is crossed by small canals. It is very cozy and calm here. In the middle of the 20th century, a wooden stage was erected on the territory of the park, 30 years later, a new one was built. Which was designed for 4000 spectators. During the holidays. The stage is used as a stage, and theatrical performances are also staged there.
In the near future, it is planned to equip an active recreation area near the old stables. In addition, it is planned to restore the castle and put the entertainment infrastructure in proper order.
We also recommend reading Shark Reef Oceanarium description and photos - Russia - South: Yeisk
Topic: Manor of Counts Borchs (Grafu Borhu dzimtas muizas apbuves kompleksu ar parku) description and photos - Latvia: Preili.