Rating: 8,6/10 (8489 votes)
Cadet school building description and photos - Russia - Volga region: Saratov. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
Designed by the order of the merchant G.V. Ochkin by the city architect A.M. Salko, a large three-story building was erected during two construction seasons and was completed in 1877.
In the 1830-1850s, this place was the courtyard of the owner of a cloth factory, Franz Ivanovich Stein, who supplied cloth and blankets to the army. His family lived in separate rooms of his own stone and spacious house, and half of the house at one time was rented out for barracks. Three gates of Stein's yard overlooked two streets - Nikolskaya and M. Sergievskaya. The courtyard itself, planted with rows of pickles and maples, extended to Proviantskaya Street and was filled with many houses, sheds and hovels. F.I.Stein was the founder of the "German Dance Club", which was located for a short time in his house. Subsequently, the courtyard was fragmented and one of the courtyard places (from the middle of the block to Proviantskaya street) was acquired by the merchant G.V. Ochkin.
The building was built in the forms of retrospective classicism; the main entrance from the Malaya Sergievskaya side was decorated with a canopy of artistic casting on metal pillars. An elegantly cast representative cast-iron staircase has been preserved in the interior of the building.
From 1877 to 1890, the building was rented by the Alexander-Mariinsky men's real school (founded in 1873), in which they studied: artist V.E. Borisov- Musatov, poet, novelist, playwright - A.M. Fedorov. In 1890 the school moved to a building specially built for them. Subsequently, the apartment building was rented out to the Main Construction Office of the RUZhD administration, the midwife and paramedic school, and the third female gymnasium. In the first Soviet years, the building housed a labor school of the second degree, and from 1943 to 1948, the 19th male gymnasium was located, the director of which was the legendary Saratov teacher Pavel Akimovich Erokhin.
In 2001, the overhauled and restored building was a secondary military educational institution - a cadet school - has been restored, which admits mainly children of dead servicemen and from poor families with many children. Today the building is considered an architectural monument and continues to serve educational purposes, graduating highly educated and trained cadets.
We also recommend reading Castle of Strechau (Burg Strechau) description and photos - Austria: Styria
Topic: Cadet school building description and photo - Russia - Volga region: Saratov.